Saturday, May 23, 2009

Walking on a dream: By Empire of the Sun

Empire of the Sun is a project band by two talented Australian musicians, Luke Steel (of Sleepy Jackson) and Nick Littlemore (of P'Nau).

This album is simply and surprisingly a brilliant collaboration which has turned out to be one of the best electropop/dance albums of the past few years, certainly in Australia, and perhaps around the world. Just think og MGMT, but more cohesive and catchy.

The album's refreshing and catchy mixture of funk, electropop and dance melodies are very easy to listen to and unlike many similar albums around, almost all songs are worthy of inclusion in the album. The stand outs are however "We are the People" and the title song "Walking on a dream". These two songs are great pop songs, sound crisp and as a result have become a big favourite of many DJ remixes around the world in the past few months.